By-poll results: Congress win Sidhi, BJP retain Gwalior

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has received a setback with the Congress win in Sidhi and the low margin with which Yashodhara Raje Scindia won in Gwalior. To its consolation it won the Udaipura assembly constituency easily. However, the message is clear that they shouldn't write off the Congress.

Sidhi Lok Sabha seat:
Congress wins. It's candidate Manik Singh defeats BJP's Kunwar Singh. Manik got 2.12 lakh votes while Kunwar Singh secured 2.11 lakh votes. The margin was merely 1586. Gondwana Gantantra Party (GGP) chief Hira Singh Markam got 71,000 votes.BSP 42,000 SP 17,000. The campaign was led by Arjun Singh's son Rahul Bhaiya alias Ajay Singh. Arjun couldn't come for the campaigning owing to his ill health.

Gwalior Lok Sabha seat:
Here BJP's Yashodhara Raje Scindia defeated Congress' Ashok Singh by a margin of over 35,000 votes. It was the first occasion when a Scindia family member (Jyotiraditya Scindia) had campaigned against a familly member.

Udaipura Assembly seat where polls were held has been retained by BJP. Shashiprabha Singh defeated Congress candidate Sahab Singh by 19,079 votes. She got 52,544 votes and Sahib secured nearly 33,000. After Ram Pal Singh had resigned, the bypoll was held. Shashi Prabha is Ram Pal's wife.

The by-polls for the two Lok Sabha seats were necessitated after BJP MPs Ramsewak Singh and Chandrapratap Singh were expelled from the house after being accused in the 'cash-for-query' scam. The by-election in Udaipura was caused by the resignation of Rampal Singh, who was elected to the Lok Sabha from Vidisha - a seat vacated by Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan.

Most popular posts on this Blog