Congress wins 12 seats, BJP 16 in Madhya Pradesh

Results of the Lok sabha elections in Madhya Pradesh. Of the 28 seats, BJP won 16, Congress 12 and BSP got one seat. Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan must be worried as Congress has performed exceedingly well.

The results of the 29 seats for which elections were held are as follows:

Indore: Sumitra Mahajan [BJP] defeated Satyanarayan Patel by 11,480 votes
Khargone: MS Solanki [BJP] defeated Bala Bachchan by 34,175 votes
Khandwa: Arun Yadav [Cong] defeated Nandkumar Singh by 49,081 votes
Dhar: Gajendrasingh Rajukhedi [Cong] defeated MS Kirod by 2,661 votes
Dewas: Sajjan Singh Verma [Cong] defeated Thavarchand Gahlot by 15,457 votes

Ratlam: Kantilal Bhuria [Cong] defeated Dilip SIngh Bhuria by 57,668 votes
Ujjain: Premchand Guddu [Cong] defeated Satyanarayan Jatia by 15,841 votes
Guna: Jyotiraditya Scindia [Cong] defeated Narottam Mishra by 2.49 lakh votes
Morena: Narendra Singh Tomar [BJP] defeated RN Rawat by 1 lakh votes
Bhind: Ashok Argal [BJP] defeated Dr Bhagirath Prasad by 18,886 votes

Gwalior: Yashodhara Raje Scindia [BJP] defeated Ashok Singh by 26,591 votes
Betul: Jyoti Dhurve [BJP] defeated Ojharam Ivne by 97,317 votes
Jabalpur: Rakesh Singh [BJP] defeated Rameshwar Neekhra by 1.06 lakh votes
Sagar: Bhupendra Singh [BJP] defeated Aslam Sher Khan by 1.31 lakh votes
Khajuraho: Jitendra Singh Bundela [BJP] defeated Raja Pateria by 28,332 votes

Tikamgarh: Virendra Kumar [BJP] defeated Vrindavan Ahirwar by 41,862 votes
Damoh: Shivraj Lodhi [BJP] defeated Chandrabhan Singh by 70,887 votes
Sidhi: Govind Mishra [BJP] defeated Indrajit Patel by 45,740 votes
Balgahat: KD Deshmukh [BJP] defeated Vishweshwar Bhagat by 40,819 votes
Vidisha: Sushma Swaraj [BJP] defeated Samajwadi Party's Munawwar Salim by 3.89 lakh votes

Satna: Ganesh Singh [BJP] defeated Sukhlal Kushwaha by 4,418 votes
Mandsaur: Meenakshi Natrajan [Cong] defeated Laxminarayan Pandey by 30,819 votes
Mandla: Basori Singh [Cong] defeated Faggan Singh Kulaste by 65,053 votes
Shahdol: Rajesh Nandini Singh [Cong] defeated Narendra Marawi by 13,415 votes

Rajgarh: Narayan Singh [Cong] defeated Laxman Singh by 24,388 votes
Chhindwara: Kamal Nath [Cong] defeated MR Khabse by 1.21 lakh votes
Hoshangabad: Uday Pratap Singh [Cong]defeated Rampal Singh by 19,245 votes
Rewa: BSP candidate Devraj Patel defeated Sundar Lal Tiwari of Congress by 4,021 votes


Bhopal girl gets 20th rank in UPSC

Sufiyah Faruqui has secured 20th rank in the civil services examinations, the results of which were announced recently.

She had studied at St Joseph's Convent School and later graduated from the Sarojini Naidu PG College (Nutan).

She had done her post-graduation in History. Sufiyah will opt for Madhya Pradesh cadre. Three others Ankita Pandey, Avaneesh Tiwari and D Satish were also selected from Bhopal.


Child marriages solmenised on Akshaya Tritiya

Dozens of minors got married on Akha Teej, despite the 'strictness' of the district administration and the police.

Across the state numerous child marriages were reported. Just like the photograph along with this post that shows Ramu, 8, with his child bride, Rekha, weddings were solemnised through out Malwa, Bundelkhant, Baghelkhand and Gwalior-Chambal region.

Ramu alias Onkar is a Bhil. His 'wife' is a year older. She is nine. The couple was brought to the temple along with their family members and the baraat. Women danced and sang on the occasion as per the tradition of Malwa.

On Askshay Tritiya, children are annually married in rural parts of Madhya Pradesh and Chhattisgarh. Though the efforts of governments and NGOs have shown a decline, but still the practice is prevalent and often marriages are held secretly.

Most popular posts on this Blog